Warhammer 40.000 scout dragon

WH40k Scout Dragon

This is a project that I have been working on for at least a couple of years. The idea for this model came just after finishing the Scout Walker, but for some reason I never was able to finish it until now. It’s so old I can’t even find any work-in-progress shots unfortunately… Anyway, here she is!

Like the scout walker I used the Imperial Guard Sentinel legs, which in the ‘new’ (back then) version are fully posable. The engines as well as the beak are ships from Spartan Games Firestorm Armada game (Sorylian Collective). Most of the rest is spare parts from the bits box. Bottom jaw is the chainsaw from the Sentinel.

The wings, together with the neck and tailplates were scratch-built from plasticard, bought from the local gameshop.

I struggled most with painting this beast. I noticed again that I am not built for painting large, flat surfaces as most of it will turn out spotty and uneven. I might look into buying/trying an airbrush in the future for these kinds of project. To solve this, this is one of the first models I ever attempted some heavy weathering on. I tried some techniques I found on Instagram on one wing first, which I re-painted at least 5 times until I was happy with the results.

I ended up with a mix of scratches, peeled-off paint and rust on the edges and drybrushing white and brown on the parts that would catch the most wind in flight.

The victim is a Tau Crisis suit, which was a lot of fun to mangle, and then paint.

Some painting in progress shots:

Leave a Reply

